Greg reflects..

on winning the  ‘Unlocking Cornish Potential Award for Creative Enterprise Cornwall Best Postgraduate Placement‘.

The placement exceeded all of my expectations … I built a fedge, introduced willow coppicing as a living skill back into the Portscatho community, and provided opportunities to strengthen connections between the owners of the campsite and the local community … Through this project I have discovered a way to further my artistic practice through working in, and for, communities.  Learning and passing on knowledge that is in danger of dying out.  This to me was the real enjoyment of the placement.  To teach these lost or dying skills to people and watch them flower and re-live in a community that can value them.

For a fully detailed account of Gregs’ Caravanserai residency activities at Treloan check out his blog

Leave a comment